(Have the strength to cut things out  - Balanced Human - Harvest with your tools all you can in your heart)

Morality Concentration Wisdom



Morality develops Concentration

Concentration develops Wisdom

Wisdom develops Morality

Buddha: the One-Who-Knows, the one who has Purity, Radiance and Peace in his heart.

Dhamma: the characteristics of purity, radiance and peace, which arise from

Morality, Concentration and Wisdom.

“Therefore, one who is to reach the Buddha Dhamma is one who cultivates and develops morality, concentration and wisdom within himself.”

This is a map of inner peace/enlightenment.  If you follow the path; your sufferings will dissolve and Inner Peace will arise.

Firstly, one must have the essential Wisdom to know the path.

Then, you must walk the path. 

Without knowing the path (way) one is unable to initiate the journey of peace. 

animation 1Wisdom of the path is the very beginning.  The wisdom to know that morality is the cornerstone.  A moral person being freer of a deluded and entangled mind is able to concentrate more clearly, and a person with a lucid mind attains wisdom more easily.  The resultant wisdom solidifies one’s faith in the method, which in turn strengthens their morality, in turn solidifying one’s concentration and resulting in even further wisdom. 

Knowing that the path consists of Morality, Concentration, and Wisdom leads us to find out what the principles of those 3 things are that will enable our vehicle for the journey. 

The path of morality, concentration and wisdom are the summation of the 8-fold path as outlined by Buddha. 

The 8-fold path is the cure for the disease of suffering as outlined by Buddha in the Four Noble Truths. 

This formula is presented as a doctor’s announcement.   

1.  What your disease is.

2.  What is the cause of your disease.

3.  Can it be cured?

4.  How? 

The Four Noble Truths

Suffering is not an illness; it is the normal counterpole to happiness.

1. People suffer.

2. Suffering comes from Desire, Attachment, Craving, Clinging, Aversion, Thirsting, and Hungering.

3. Suffering and misery can be eliminated.

4. By: The 8-fold path.


The 8-fold path is the cure that Buddha prescribed to eliminate suffering.

And the MCW formula is the summation of the 8-fold path in 3 words.

In Pali; Suffering (Dukkha) comes from Desire (Sukkha) and can be eliminated (Nirodha) by the 8-fold path (Magga)

The 8-fold path

·        Right Wisdom - To be free from ignorance.  To know the true nature of existence.  To know the Four Noble Truths.

·        Right Thoughts – Having thoughts that purify the mind.

·        Right Speech - To refrain from pointless and harmful talk.  To speak kindly and courteously to all.

·        Right Action - To see that our deeds are peaceable, benevolent, compassionate, and pure; to live the Teaching daily.

·        Right Occupation - To earn our living in such a way as to entail no evil consequences.

·        Right Effort[6] - To direct our efforts incessantly to the overcoming of ignorance and craving desires.

·        Right Mindfulness - To cherish good and pure thoughts for all that we say do arise from our thoughts.

·         Right Meditation - To concentrate our will on the Buddha. His Life, and His Teaching.

Following the Noble Path is like entering a dark room with a light in the hand:  the darkness will all be cleared away and the room will be filled with light[7].

From right wisdom proceeds right thought;

From right thought proceeds right speech;

From right speech proceeds right action;

From right action proceeds right livelihood;

From right livelihood proceeds right effort;

From right effort proceeds right awareness

From right awareness proceeds right concentration;

From right concentration proceeds right wisdom;

From right wisdom proceeds right liberation.

The Wheel of Dhamma represents the turning of the 8-fold path.  Each spoke in the wheel represents an aspect of the path.  They are all equally important and success is achieved when they are working at their full potential.

The eight-fold path is self-explanatory, but other people take its principles and change (renew) them in order to speak to a new audience.  In the Tao of Jeet Kune Do[8] (Bruce Lee`s manual for an effective martial arts way of practice) Bruce gives this interpretation of the eight-fold path.


1.     You must see clearly what is wrong

2.     Decide to be cured

3.     Speak so as to aim at being cured.

4.     You must act

5.     Your livelihood must not conflict with your therapy.

6.     The therapy must go forward at the “staying speed,” the critical velocity that can be sustained.

7.     You must feel it and think about it incessantly.

8.     Learn how to contemplate with the deep mind

[1] The Discourse Summaries – page 7

[1] Ajahn Chah

[2]Dalai Lama; Public audience – 1987 – Celestial Gallery

[3] “There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path.”  -- Morpheus

[4] Nobody, as long as he moves about among the chaotic currents of life, is without trouble.  C. G. Jung

[5] Desire:  The feeling that accompanies an unsatisfied state                                                                  

[6] Depending on the school of thought it is sometimes considered morality based and sometimes concentration based.

[7] The Teachings of Buddha 1.3

[8] ‘The Way of the Intercepting Fist”.